Executive-In-Residence Lecture

Annually, the Department of Hospitality and Tourism Management in the College of Merchandising, Hospitality and Tourism at the University of North Texas presents an Executive-in-Residence Lecture (EIR).  The EIR showcases an industry leader in the area of hospitality and tourism management.  The EIR is funded by the Ben K. Keith Company Endowed Lectureship at the University of North Texas.

The EIR is a professional development event for hospitality and tourism management students.  It offers a continuous platform for students to learn from noted industry leaders about industry trends and professional career development.  At the conclusion of a lecture, students have the opportunity to engage in dialogue with the industry leader through a question and answer segment. 

Benefit to Industry
The EIR is a tremendous opportunity for company exposure to UNT hospitality and tourism management students.  The ripple effect of this exposure includes students’ recognition and interest in the company as a top employer when making career choices.  Past speakers and companies continue to be recognized at all future EIR Lectures.

EIR Speakers
The EIR, which began in 1988, boasts 25 years of success. Past speakers include:

  • Jaturon (Eddie) Pruekairojkul, Human Resources Director - 2015 
  • Joy Rothschild, Chief Human Resources Officer – 2014
  • Eric L. Affeldt, President and CEO, ClubCorp – 2013
  • Albert Chew, Chief Operating Officer, Freeman Company – 2012
  • Lane Cardwell, President, P.F. Chang’s China Bistro - 2011
  • John Miller, CEO, Taco Bueno – 2010
  • Noreen Henry, Vice President Hotels & Packaging, Travelocity - 2009
  • L. Scott Tarwater, Executive Vice President of Development & Bob Fugazi, Regional Vice President, Southern Region, John Q. Hammons Hotels and Resorts, Sheri D. Smith, Pres., Publicis PR, Honoring J. Q. Hammons Living Legend - 2009
  • Steve Baumann, Vice President, Talent Acquisition & Selection, Marriott Inc. -2007
  • Doug Brooks, Chairman of the Board, Pres. & CEO, Brinker International -2006
  • John Imaizumi, Senior Vice President & General Manager, Gaylord Texan - 2005
  • Richard Snead, President & CEO, Carlson Restaurants Worldwide - 2004
  • Hattie Hill, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Hattie Hill Enterprises, Inc.- 2003
  • Thomas J Corcoran Jr., President & CEO, Felcor Lodging Trust, Inc. - 2002
  • Herman Cain, CEO, T.H.E., Inc. & Chairman, Godfather’s Pizza, Inc. - 2002
  • Sam Gilliand, Chief Marketing Officer, SABRE - 2001
  • David E. Whitney, President & CEO, Dallas Convention and Visitors Bureau - 2000
  • Robert B. Rowling, Chairman, Omni Hotels - 2000
  • Kent Wasmuth, Vice-President of National Sales, Opryland Lodging Group - 1999
  • David W. Johnson, President, Wyndam Garden Hotels - 1998
  • Dave Thomas, Founder, Wendy’s International -1998
  • Hala Moddelmog, President, Churchs Chicken - 1998
  • Sarah J. Palisi, CEO, Enersyst Development Center - 1997
  • F. Lane Cardwell, Jr., President, Eatzi’s Market & Bakery - 1997
  • Gretchen Minyard Williams, Co-Chair of the Board, Minyard Food Stores - 1996
  • Robert C. Hunter, President & CEO, PepsiCo Food Systems Worldwide - 1996
  • Robert H. Dedman, Jr., President & COO, ClubCorp International - 1995
  • J. Peter Kline, President & CEO, Harvey Hotel Company - 1995
  • Michael K. Fitzpatrick, Chief Operating Officer, Rax Restaurants, Inc. - 1994
  • James F. Moore, President, Jim Moore Enterprise - 1994
  • Philip Romano,  Romano Enterprise - 1993
  • Ronald Magruder, President, Olive Garden Restaurants - 1993
  • Carl Sewell, Owner, Sewell Village Cadillac - 1992
  • Charlotte St. Martin,  Loews Anatole - 1992
  • Richard E. Rivera, President & CEO, TGI Fridays - 1991
  • Kyle Craig, President, Kentucky Fried Chicken USA - 1991
  • Ed Johnson, Rex Sanders, Co-Founders, Grandy's Inc. - 1990
  • William R. Waugh, Waugh Enterprise - 1989
  • Robert Dedman, Chairman & CEO, Club Corp - 1989
  • Norman Brinker, Chairman & CEO, Chili's, Inc.  - 1988

The entire day is from 9:00 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.  The EIR begins at 10:00 a.m.  The lecture lasts for 45 to 50 minutes followed by 10 to 15 minutes for questions from students.  The EIR lecturer is then invited to interact with students on a more informal basis from 11:00 – 11:30.  The EIR takes place in the Ballroom of the University Gateway Center.

Making a Permanent Record
Each EIR is professionally video taped and added to a growing library of EIR lecturers.  These tapes are used by students and faculty in hospitality and tourism management classes.  The EIR speaker is asked to sign a release form prior to video taping. 

Following the EIR, the EIR speaker is hosted at a luncheon in the Gateway Center from 11:30 to 1:30.  Those in attendance will include hospitality and tourism management faculty, students, members of UNT’s central administration, members of the UNT Hospitality and Tourism Management Board of Governors, and guests of the speaker.

What Speakers Need to Provide
Speakers need to provide a resume or biography and photo for publicity in the EIR program.  Professional multimedia support is provided for DVD and/or a PowerPoint presentation.  Time is scheduled the morning of the event at 9:00 a.m. for the speaker to work with the multimedia technician.